>First things first

>Inspired by my brother’s blog, I have decided to create an online journal as well. Yeah, my brother’s blog’s main focus is different than my own but try telling inspiration that. I can’t promise any certain focus for my own, or even very regular updates, but I assume they will generally have something to do with faith as that is my usual topic of choice. The name, “The Leaky Jar” comes from my love for 2 Corinthians 4:7 which says that we have the precious treasure of salvation in “jars of clay” or “earthen vessels” to show that the power with which we live is not from us but from God. Basically, God often chooses to make His glory known through unexpected people (the weak, the lonely, the poor, the unattractive, the stutterers, the sinners, the outcasts) because no one can mistake glory in those people as coming from their own personal power. God makes His power known through our weaknesses because our weaknesses cannot claim to be strenghts by themselves. The way I see it, I am a leaky jar, and as God continually pours Himself into me He also leaks out of me into those around me through the cracks, fissures and holes in my life. If God were to stop pouring Himself into me, the cracks would be to my detriment, but because He gives Himself continually my weaknesses become the very things that keep me filled with fresh water and away from stagnation.

~ by Samuel on May 30, 2007.

One Response to “>First things first”

  1. >Great Sam, I look forward to watching this blog develop. I dig the title. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
