>MAN-ual Labor

>You wouldn’t know it, but I enjoy manual labor. I enjoy it in moderation, that is. I am not sure I would want to make my living at it, but at the same time a part of me thinks that I could love it. Especially outdoor, botanical, horticultural labor. I say this all, because I have spent a couple of days this week working in the yard at my pastor’s house. Something feels right about doing it.
Where is the theology behind this? This is just a thought, but my original grandparents, way down the line, were the first humans set on this planet and their job was to garden. The end of the chain of people in the Bible that I know are in my ancestral line (Noah) was the keeper of a vineyard. Apparently agriculture is in our blood. Perhaps it would have been the vocation of every person to garden if the Fall had never occurred. We cannot know. Still, I believe something of the gardener echoes in every human being. Perhaps this is overly esoteric, but give me some credit: I’m a little tired from working outside.

~ by Samuel on June 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “>MAN-ual Labor”

  1. >Interesting… I never thought of it. You are right that our ancestors started at a garden.

  2. >Wow.. another APU student!! I thought I was the only one blogging and reading Boundless hehe

  3. >”The sleep of a laborer is sweet, whether he eats little or much.”-Eccles 5:12aI found your blog through a comment you left on boundless. I wanted to thank you for your candor and insight. Your thoughts are Biblical and well put, and I have been blessed by your posts. God bless you!

  4. >Your posts are like a breath of fresh air over a weary hearted, hard minded deserted soul of a desert that has been trampled by massive herds of hungry wandering wildabeasts. thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
