>Moved In and Coming Home

>Well, I am all moved in back at school. The moving-in process is responsible in the delay since my last post, but really, the last post was long enough to make up for a couple of weeks.
A mildly interesting thought on moving in:
When I return to my hometown and house over Christmas and for the summer, I have a definite sense of coming home. As I come down the Grapevine heading north and see the large expanses of land without buildings cluttering the horizon, I know that I am headed home. As I continue north and pass through miles and miles of agriculture, recognizing the crops from the smell and the sight, seeing tractors dotting the fields, I feel as if I am almost there. When I finally pull into my driveway, open the front door, smell the smell of my own house (which I can only smell after being gone for a good period), hear my dog’s jingling collar as he jumps up to my chest, and hug my parents, I know that I am home and it is good.
Oddly enough, in a different way I now feel as if I am coming home when I return to Azusa. How is it possible for two places to both feel like home? How is it possible to feel the pain of leaving one home only to experience the joy of returning to my other home a few hours later?
I have these experiences about four times a year: moving into my Azusa quarters in the Fall, coming home to Oakdale for Christmas, returning to Azusa after the Christmas break, and returning to Oakdale for the summer. Four times a year my thoughts are especially given to Heaven. As I make these homecomings, I reflect on the fact that when the time comes for this life to end, that it will be no mere euphemism to say that I “have been called home.” Although the New Heavens and the New Earth in the total presence of God, His angels, and His people will in some ways be an alien thing, I believe that it will also be the fullest experience of coming home. I will feel as if I have finally made it back to a place that I have never been before. I will reach the very place that I was created for.
The writer of Hebrews lays out this principle in regards to God’s faithful disciples,

“All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on the earth. People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. Instead, they were longing for a better country–a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for He has prepared a city for them.”
-Hebrews 11:13-16.

How great is that promise made by the Lord Himself,

“In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

~ by Samuel on September 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
